you think it sucks to be *you*? not this week. Two Weeks of Suck, Part 0

This post is in retrospect. I’m actually writing it in Paris, but I wanted to make an introduction to a series of posts I’d like to call Two Weeks of Suck.

Don’t get me wrong– Spring Break was fun. I took boyfriend to my old house in Jersey and he ate his first White Castle burger nearby, and I had a lot of fun in London with him and some other friends (god bless English pubs! The legal drinking age is 18!).

However, the name “Two Weeks of Suck” is derived from the lengthy list of things that went wrong with this expensive and elaborate trip, each of which I will explain in detail later:

1. Thursday, March 15. I realize I need to renew my passport. By Monday.

2. Monday, March 19. I don’t get my passport in time and have to reschedule my appointment for my French visa for Wednesday morning, when I have a final exam.

3. Wednesday, March 21. My final exam can only be taken before the exam time ends (or I have to re-take the class), so after getting my visa at San Francisco, I have to haul ass back to campus before 11:30am.

4. Thursday, March 22. Upon getting off the plane in New York I realize I’d forgotten the keys to the sublet we were supposed to stay in.

5. Saturday, March 24. We lose the sublet owner’s cat.

6. Sunday, March 25. We miss our flight to London.

7. Tuesday-Thursday, March 27-29. We sleep through most of the day.

8. Friday, March 30. I find out that my host mother can’t accommodate me for Saturday night when I arrive in Paris. I have to either book a hotel or change my flight. Mom books a hotel.

9. Saturday, March 31. At the Air France check-in counter I find out that my luggage has to be 20kg. Each kilo over that is GBP 8.40 (USD $16.50). I’m 18kg over, so I have to either pay $300 or forfeit my flight.

Once I got to Paris, though, things looked better. I assumed that if the U.S. and London were bad, Paris would be ten times worse, but fortunately that hasn’t been the case. Knock on wood.

So. Let’s start with the first post: How to get your passport renewed in 3 business days!

0 Responses to “you think it sucks to be *you*? not this week. Two Weeks of Suck, Part 0”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

What?

This is a blog of things place-related, by a cash-strapped Stanford grad who's lived in various places and writes about life. She's currently looking for a job in Manhattan or the Bay Area.

This Month

March 2007
S M T W T F S
    Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Camera

cow and chicken

bear in minnesota

hidamari no tami

bear on the beach

cannes harbor

good morning

More Photos

