international student cards and long-awaited letters

I bought an International Student Identity Card the other day. I’m not sure if it’ll get me any better discounts than I get with my regular student ID card, but it’s worth a shot. (And $22.)

I also wrote a letter to my host family in Japan.

For those of you who don’t know me, you may not understand the importance of this letter. I returned from my year in Japan three years ago and haven’t talked with my host family since. I’ve been trying to write this letter for a very long time and somehow it’s been put off until now, and it’s been stressing me out in small amounts daily (which adds up!).

To summarize: I procrastinate a lot. (In fact, I wrote the letter to them because I was procrastinating on doing a problem set.)

My host family was actually pretty cool. I’m just really bad at this stuff. It’s like the movie Devdas, when the main character (Devdas) goes to study in London for ten years and only writes back twice before returning. That’s how I roll– I assume people won’t miss me so much that they want to hear from me regularly, and I assume that when I return, life will go on as usual.

For example: Last summer, I went back to the East Coast to hang out with some friends I hadn’t seen in a while, and we hung out in Manhattan almost as if I’d never left. That’s the kind of relationship I like having with people. I disappear so often that I enjoy being able to pick up a friendship right where it left off (or at least close to that point).

I still haven’t mailed the letter because I’m mailing some Stanford swag and a photo CD along with it, but at least the most difficult part’s over.

P.S. I’m beginning to get some responses to the replies I’ve made to ads from my craigslist query a few days ago (did you know that you can make an RSS feed from craigslist queries by clicking on the RSS link at the very bottom of the first results page? Here’s the lifehacker visual tutorial).

In the interest of replying ASAP, my reply’s been very formulaic, but now I can get around to asking for photos, securing dates, and getting more info on whether or not these people are legit. Waiting for replies is frustrating (especially if you don’t know whether they’ll reply at *all*), but if you forget about ’em for a while, patience pays off.

0 Responses to “international student cards and long-awaited letters”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

What?

This is a blog of things place-related, by a cash-strapped Stanford grad who's lived in various places and writes about life. She's currently looking for a job in Manhattan or the Bay Area.

This Month

March 2007
S M T W T F S
    Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

