why the blog?

Since that last post was about why I like traveling and why I like to live in new places for extended periods of time, this post is going to be about why I started this blog.

1. Keeping a blog about my travels in particular keeps more readers entertained. I have a personal blog to update people from the East Coast about my life, but what random reader would be interested in my life? (Actually, I’m sure there are a few out there. That’s what scares me.)

2. It’s useful for organizing my own thoughts and keeping track of stuff. I’ve kept diaries since I was little. This is sort of an extension of that. It helps me remember the finer details of the time period and place. (Though reading my past diaries and blogs makes me cringe…)

3 . It helps me stay on track with my goals. If I publicize my to-do list and cross things off as I do them, the possible people who can see how much I procrastinate and slack off will motivate me to do better. It’s sort of like how I tell everyone that I want to be a Japanese rock star. It’s true, and telling people about it makes me want to do it even more. (Farfetched? Perhaps. But a girl can dream.)

4. It may be useful to someone out there. Once upon a time in high school, when I was still debating about whether I should go to Japan, my guidance counselor told me of an alumna who’d done it before. Being able to contact her about it was comforting. Just the idea that it was possible gave me confidence.

I’m not saying that I’m a perfect role model, but I want people to know that crazy shit like this is doable. As long as you figure out how to finance your plan. If you even have one.

Which brings me to my next topic: How the hell do I find money to do this?

0 Responses to “why the blog?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

What?

This is a blog of things place-related, by a cash-strapped Stanford grad who's lived in various places and writes about life. She's currently looking for a job in Manhattan or the Bay Area.

This Month

March 2007
S M T W T F S
    Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

